Sunday, Sunday

Today was an unusual Sunday for me because we did not have to travel to the southwest suburbs of Chicago to take either Mom to church followed by some lunch.  Don’t get me wrong, I love both of them but, I miss the time we have with our daughters to go worship close to home and have a meal together afterwards to discuss what’s on everyone’s mind, how was the latest concert, movie, etc.  We are so blessed that our girls still live at home and we have time to have shared experiences. 

As it so happened, our oldest was coming home from Cleveland after participating in a folk dance festival and our oldest came home very early in the morning from a concert in Chicago. So, my husband and I got to church without either of them for the 9AM service followed by a delicious breakfast at “Daddio’s” in Batavia.  We had not been there in a while and were not surprised to see a line out the door. We were lucky and found 2 available stools at the counter. This Sunday, as every Sunday, “Daddio’s” was busy, busy, busy.  We had the opportunity to watch the cooking staff of two, which was directly across the counter from us, work like well trained dancers, anticipating each others moves.  Very few words were spoken between them, they just kept the orders coming and the customers were obviously happy with their results.

I thought of my husband and myself while watching the two cooks.  We’re just like them, we’ve learned from being married over 20 years, to anticipate each others moves/needs.  We know when to crack a joke, give an unexpected hug, praise them for all they do.  I’m so very grateful, he is my ying to my yang ( which can by trying at times). He likes to say something funny to make me smile or laugh each and every day. That is one of the reasons why I love him so.

I’d like to hear from you and how you complement you partner.  

 

Leave a Reply

